10644637_10203331384991407_5097399870004718543_n

Many years ago while back in university, I took an Ecocritism English class. The class was a study of nature writing through various authors on how they viewed our environment in North America. The writings were over a span of three generations. One of our assignments was to complete a literature review on a piece by Barry Lopez. The piece was called “A literature of Place” in which Lopez speaks of becoming one with nature and how it shaped his writings and perspective of life.  As part of f the assignment , we were also asked to go into nature, turn off all technology and write about our experience.

It was early morning hours and the sun sat on the edge of the horizon like an eager child, waiting to greet me.  I live on one of the highest ridges’ in this county enabling me to see forever in all directions.  An honor and privilege to live on this ridge. As I walk I am  completely immersed in my  surroundings. This morning there is no wind only a powerful, piecing silence as the earth picks up my vibrations  and spirit as I tread across it. I hear the swish of the crow’s wingspan as he flies ever so close, greeting me as I enter his world. He greets me, and he knows me, like this field knows me. The earth and I connect and I am humbled by the greeting it  extends to me, for  it embraces me and we become one.  Its’ welcome gives way to humbleness and excitement.  It is the comfort and ease of our relationship which makes  this  special.  I have a strong bond with this land; it grounds me and it never lets me down, it’s always there always faithful and glad to see me. The earth always has something new and exciting for me to watch, to feel, to sense and this morning is no different.

As with Lopez this field and I keep each other alive with our stories as the land has gift for extracting those stories from us. It desires to hear our needs and our yearnings.  Our stories need to be shared and passed on to our families and our communities in order that others feel the comfort and connectedness of the land,  the earth.

We need “another kind of logic, another way of knowing?” something that excites us and provides  peace within us. The energy from the earth allows for that logic, that sense of being non-judgemental, forgiveness, extending comfort and ease and it is always there with a new story to share with us. The earth’s energy is powerful and animated. We must be vulnerable and allow  the relationship to evolve,  for the earth has many things to tell us and by listening we can develop and understand its logic. Another way of knowing.

On this winter solstice, one of the most powerful times in the earths’ history, go out on the land today, walk it and feel its vibrations. Let it pulsate through you, allow it to touch all of your senses and feel it embrace you. Exchange stories and tell it your wants and needs. It only wants to be your friend, and it will gift you  “another way of knowing” to enable you to find your inner peace.

Happy Solstice!

